The Dinny Phipps Award


The 2023 Dinny Phipps award was presented to Dr. Larry Bramlage at a dinner hosted by the chairman of The Jockey Club, Stuart S. Janney III, in Saratoga Springs, New York, the week of the Round Table Conference on Matters Pertaining to Racing.

Dr. Bramlage is an internationally recognized equine orthopedic surgeon and has received numerous awards for his commitment to equine health, including the The Jockey Club Medal, the Tierlink Hochmoor Prize, the distinguished alumni award from The Ohio State University, the Alumni Fellow Award from Kansas State University, a British Equine Veterinary Association’s Special Award of Merit, the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Legends award, the Thoroughbred Club Testimonial Award, and induction into the International Equine Veterinary Hall of Fame. He has also received the American Association of Equine Practitioners Distinguished Service Award twice.

In 2019, Dr. Bramlage received the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Founders Award for career achievement, and in 2021, he was awarded the “Beyond the Call Award” by the American Association of Equine Practitioners.

In addition to his achievements as a veterinarian, Dr. Bramlage has been a member of The Jockey Club since 2002 and has served as a steward. He is also a member of The Jockey Club Thoroughbred Safety Committee and serves on the board of the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation, where he plays a vital role on the Research Advisory Committee. In 2022, he was named to the Advisory Council of the Horseracing Integrity and Safety Authority.

  • Dr. Larry Bramlage... A Lifetime Dedicated To The Horse

  • Click Here to Donate in Honor Of Dr. Larry Bramlage

  • winners